Skip to content ↓


The management of the School is headed by the Governing Board that is comprised of elected Parents, Teaching staff, Co-optees and HVT appointees drawn from a wide range of backgrounds, who each occupy a four year term of office. The aim of our Governing Body is to challenge, support and complement the work of our School. EAG Committee meetings (Education Advisory Board) take place in School at least once each half term and are supported by additional Governor visits into School.
Name Category Appointed By Term of Office Responsibility
Mrs Kate Davis Parent Directors   Chair of Governors
Mrs Jeannette Mackinney Co-Opted Directors    
Mrs Rebecca Keen Head Teacher Directors 01/09/18 to 31/08/22
Mrs Jenny Gover Parent Directors  5/3/21 Vice Chair of Governors

The following are useful links to the Hales Valley Trust website and key documents. Including the MAT Governance Structure:

Register of Business Interest 

Name Business Interest Other Governance/
School Link
Relative Declared Date Declared
Mrs Jeannette Mackinney  N/A CEO Hales Valley Trust  N/A  2019
Mrs Rebecca Keen N/A N/A N/A 2019
Mrs Kate Davis N/A N/A N/A 2019
Mrs Jenny Gover N/A N/A N/A 2019

Attendance at Governors Meetings

Governors Annual Statement

Annual Governance Statement for Hurst Hill Primary School 2019/20

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core
strategic functions of our Education Advisory Group are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, values and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the Head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and for the performance management of staff;
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our instrument of governance is comprised of the following categories:

  • 2 parent governors
  • 4 co-opted governors
  • The Headteacher

The Education Advisory Group meets at least once each half term. The Hales Valley
Trust Board are responsible for the core governance business across the Trust, with
specific monitoring functions delegated to individual schools. We also have three
committees to carry out statutory functions across the Trust. These committees are:


  • Pay Committee
  • Performance Management Committee
  • Pupil Discipline Committee.

The work that our governors have completed during the past year includes:


  • Supporting school improvement intiatives
  • Pupil premium /sports fund monitoring
  • Safeguarding systems audited/Health & Safety issues and building works monitored
  • School based policies and procedures updated and reviewed
  • Staff recruitment/staff allocation monitoring
  • Curriculum implementation and assessments monitored to ensure pupils develop their learning
  • Data analysed to ensure that pupils make good progress from their starting points
  • Attendance monitored and tracked
  • Parent events attended
  • Governor monitoring visits carried out linked to school improvement priorities

Our Governor Development Plan 2019-2020 hopes to achieve the following:

  • Support the school to improve educational outcomes for all pupils
  • Ensure that the school receives an improved judgement at the time of our next Section 5
  • Ofsted inspection
  • Continue to develop governor induction to establish robust recruitment criteria and maintain an ongoing commitment to governor training and development.
How you can contact the Education Advisory Group:

We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas and are happy to provide more
information if you are interested in finding out about becoming a governor at  our wonderful school.

The Chair of Governors, Mrs Kate Davis, can be contacted via the School Office.

Further information about governance is also available on the Governors page of the school